New July 1 Laws Include Ban on Texting While
Driving in Several States
July 2, 2013
by Jenna Reed, email@example.com
Several states began the new fiscal year July 1 by banning texting
and the usage of cell phones while driving.
Vehicle drivers in Hawaii and West Virginia now have to put down
hand-held devices, while drivers in South Dakota face similar laws,
according to USA
"Effective July 1, 2013, handheld cell phone use and text
messaging while driving is banned for all drivers [in Hawaii]. Drivers
under 18 are banned from all wireless device use," AAA officials
In Virginia, texting behind the wheel becomes a primary offense.
"In April, Virginia lawmakers overwhelming passed HB 1907
making texting behind the wheel a primary traffic offense. The new
law allows police officers to pull and cite drivers for texting
behind the wheel without first having to witness them violating
another law and those who are ticketed will also face steeper penalties,"
AAA officials report.
"Fines for a first offense are $125 and $250 for a second
or subsequent offense," AAA officials add. "Drivers convicted
of reckless driving who are also texting could face a $250 fine."
For a full list of distracted driving laws by state, click here.
This story is an original story by AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™. Subscribe to AGRR™ Magazine.
Subscribe to receive the free e-newsletter.