As of October, Connecticut AGRR technicians who are not licensed or registered as apprentices with the state Department of Labor face a $1,000 fine for a first offense and a $1,500 fine for a second offense, according to Richard Hurlburt, director of the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection Occupational and Professional Licensing Division.
The law giving the Automotive Glass Work and Flat Glass Work Examining Board and Department of Consumer Protection more power to impose fines went into effect October 1, 2014.
“The licensing program is here to make sure that contractors and journey people are trained and doing business in a safe manner,” says John Wisniewski, president of Payless Auto Glass, which has branches in Connecticut “I believe the biggest complaint we hear about is people operating within the state without a license. Giving the boards the power of enforcement and the ability to impose penalties will enhance the procedures that are currently in place.”
“The persons who are not otherwise licensed to perform auto glass or flat glass installation work must register with the state as an apprentice,” says Hurlburt. “This is the responsibility of the employer and the employee under state law.”
To obtain an AGRR license in Connecticut, an individual must be at least 18 and be willing to furnish such evidence of competency as the Automotive Glass Work and Flat Glass Work Examining Board, with the consent of the Commissioner of Consumer Protection, shall require.
“The applicant shall satisfy such board that such applicant is of good moral character, possesses a diploma or other evidence of graduation from the eighth grade of grammar school, or possesses an equivalent education to be determined on examination and has the requisite skill to perform the work in the trade for which such applicant is applying for a license and can comply with all other requirements of this chapter and the regulations adopted under this chapter,” according to Hurlburt.
“Apprenticeship programs in the state of Connecticut are administered by the Department of Labor. Skilled consultants provide technical assistance, monitoring and consulting services to qualified employers willing to take on the responsibilities and obligations of program sponsorship,” he adds.
After an apprentice program is completed, the glass technician is permitted to take a license exam.
Basically, technicians need to register with the State Department of Labor apprenticeship program and keep track of their hours worked. If there are any questions then the application will come to the exam board for review. Once approved to take the test, the technician will get a letter in the mail and can schedule with the testing facility.
“The requisite skill to perform automotive glass work, which means installing, maintaining or repairing fixed glass in motor vehicles must be equivalent to the Connecticut Department of Labor Auto Glass Apprenticeship Program,” Hurlburt says.
According to the state Department of Labor—Auto Glass Technician (AG-2) – 865.684.010—this is the guide technicians should follow:
This “need not be followed in any particular sequence, and it is understood that some slight adjustments may be necessary in the hours allotted for different work experience. In all cases, the apprentice is to receive sufficient experience to make him fully competent in all work processes which are a part of the trade. The apprentice will be fully instructed in safety and OSHA requirements. Please Note: Connecticut Occupational Licensing Regulations require a minimum number of O.J.T. years (calendar time) as expressed below.
- Glass Installations (1,700 Hours)
- Windshield Repair (100 Hours)
- Orientation and Safety (100 Hours)
- Customer Service (100 Hours)
TOTAL – 2,000 Hours
Related Instruction—144 Hours Minimum O.J.T. Years – 1”
If a technician offers AGRR services or performs such work when he is unlicensed or his license is expired, he may be found guilty of a class B misdemeanor. If a technician is found guilty and cannot fully repay any victims within a certain period of time, the court may impose probation for a period of not more than five years.
The law also gives the Automotive Glass Work and Flat Glass Work Examining Board and Department of Consumer Protection the authority to charge $1,000 for a first violation, $1,500 for a second violation and $3,000 for each violation occurring less than three years after a second or subsequent violation.
Any technician employed as an apprentice but improperly registered will not be penalized for a first offense, according to the law.