Three Receive Special Recognition at Auto Glass Week™ 2015

Allan Skidmore (left) and Carl Tompkins (right)

Allan Skidmore (left) and Carl Tompkins (right)

The Carl F. Tompkins Award for Auto Glass Safety and the National Windshield Repair Association’s (NWRA) Pioneer Award were received Wednesday by two long-term industry veterans. A new award, also bestowed by the NWRA, was also introduced during the Opening Ceremony at Auto Glass Week™ 2015. Who took home these special recognitions?

Dr. Allan Skidmore, CEO of TCG International, received the Carl F. Tompkins Award for Auto Glass Safety by the Auto Glass Safety Council™ (AGSC). The Skidmore Group includes Speedy Glass, Novus Glass and Shat-R-Proof, among others.

“To even pay him proper due would take us to Saturday,” said Carl Tompkins of Sika. “He has devoted his entire life to the automotive glass industry. His company grew from one shop to hundreds of locations.”

Skidmore joined Central Auto & Window Glass, which later became a part of TCGI, in 1967, and has held increasingly senior positions within the company during the last 48 years. His company now has more than 1,800 locations and is in 43 countries.

Skidmore’s company was the first to become a collective member of the AGSC. His Novus franchise organization requires that all its franchises be AGSC Registered Member Companies. Additionally, all of the company’s Speedy Glass stores in the United States are also AGSC Registered Member Companies (registered under Novus).

“In 1968, I started coming to meetings,” said Skidmore. “I was quite young. I encourage all of you to continue coming to these events. I learned so much. Much of my success comes from coming to events like this. I think this industry can really be proud of itself … for what it has done and what it continues to do. It’s a great honor that I accept this award.”


Jeff Reddell (left) and Gerald Zwart (right)

Jeff Reddell, president of the NWRA, honored Gerald Zwart, also known in the industry as “Dr. Chip,” with the NWRA Repair Pioneer Award for Excellence in Advancement of Auto Glass Safety.

“He embraced repairs as no one has,” said Reddell. “He helped make us well known. He always appeared in his lab coat [as Dr. Chip in commercials,]” he added.

In 1984, Zwart established Clearview Windshields. He and his wife, Jane, operate the company.

Zwart is a past member of the NWRA board of directors and has served on the ROLAGS™ Standards committee. He was instrumental in forming the Iowa Chapter of the Independent Glass Association and is a past and current judge of the GlasWeld Windshield Repair Competition in Honor of Walt Gorman.

Zwart is now semi-retired but remains an important part of the windshield repair industry.

“If you want to be a leader in your industry in your area then you need to be here,” he said. “And if you want to step it up one more notch and really be a leader, join a committee. I was on the NWRA board of directors.”

Jeff Reddell (left) and Rich Campfield (right)

Jeff Reddell (left) and Rich Campfield (right)

The NWRA also introduced the President’s Award, which went to Rich Campfield, outgoing president of the association and founder of Ultra Bond.

“I have tried endlessly to help the windshield repair industry,” said Campfield. “Repair first and when necessary, replace.”

Stay tuned to for more coverage of Auto Glass Week™ 2015.

This article is from glassBYTEs™, the free e-newsletter that covers the latest auto glass industry news. Click HERE to sign up—there is no charge. Interested in a deeper dive? Free subscriptions to Auto Glass Repair and Replacement (AGRR) magazine in print or digital format are available. Subscribe at no charge HERE.

This entry was posted in glassBYTEs Original Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.