Massachusetts Glass Licensing Bill Referred to Study Order
December 3, 2010
Massachusetts legislators currently are seeking a study order for House Bill 249, which would add glazier licensing language to the state law, and several other licensing-related bills.
Yesterday, Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure chair Rep. Theodore Speliotis filed H5093, requesting the study order. While the glazier licensing bill was introduced in early 2009, the accompanying bills related to licensing for a number of professions, such as adoption specialists, home appliance service professionals, photovoltaic installers and several others.
Speliotis issued the following request: “that the Joint Committee on Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure be authorized to sit during a recess of the General Court to make an investigation and study of House documents numbered 168, 241, 249, 297, 4180 and 4232. Said committee shall report to the General Court the results of its investigation and study and its recommendations, if any, together with drafts of legislation necessary to carry such recommendations into effect, by filing the same with the Clerk of the House of Representatives on or before December 31, 2010.”
If HB 249 passes after the requested study order, as currently worded it would define the term “glazier” as “any person regularly offering to the general public services of his employees or himself in the field of automotive glass work or flat glass work.” (Flat glass work would include both residential and commercial work.)
It also would establish a board of nine state examiners of the program, consisting of three contractors licensed to perform auto glass work, three general contractors licensed to perform flat glass work, one a municipal building official, one general contractor and one licensed architect appointed by the governor. The board of examiners would meet four times a year to hold examinations.
Those who might wish to become licensed under the terms of the bill would have to:
- Be 18 years or older;
- Satisfy the board “that he or she is of good moral character;”
- Have three years of classroom experience with a minimum of 144 hours with a state-approved school or union program;
- Have three years of employment in the glass trade with a minimum of 1,800 hours per year;
- Have passed a first aid course;
- Prove residency in Massachusetts with a picture ID; and
- Have a criminal record free of construction or glazing fraud.
Applicants would pay a fee of $75 for the exam, and, upon qualification, would pay a further fee of $100 for a license, which would last for a two-year period.
The licensing bill originally was introduced by Rep. Sean Garballey. Garballey’s legislative assistant, Dave Koffman, advised glassBYTEs.com™/AGRR magazine that the bill originally was suggested by one of Garballey’s constituents, though he didn’t have details available on the bill’s origins.
“A lot of times when bills are by request there’s not as many sponsors of the bill, so a lot of times it’s harder to get through committee,” said Koffman.
However, he noted that the study order will allow the committee to obtain more information about the bill and decide whether to push it forward.
“The study order is important for informational purposes,” Koffman said.
And, if it doesn’t make it through by the session’s end this month, that doesn’t mean the bill won’t be back.
“It’s something that definitely could be re-filed,” he said.
Need more info and analysis about the issues?
HERE to subscribe to AGRR magazine.