Massachusetts Auto Glass Repair Bill Passes Senate; Moves Through House
July 25, 2012
by Katie O'Mara, firstname.lastname@example.org
A Massachusetts bill regarding auto glass repair is moving its way through the state’s House of Representatives. Bill 2216 seeks to regulate record-keeping done by auto glass repair shops. The bill would also require auto glass repair shops to register with the state’s Division of Standards and maintain an address in Massachusetts.
“A registered motor vehicle glass repair shop shall maintain records for each motor vehicle upon which motor vehicle glass repair services have been performed, showing the usage of all glass parts, major accessory parts, including moldings and major hardware component parts, and the adhesive system used in the motor vehicle glass repair,” reads the bill. “The record shall also include the brand, product number or name and lot and batch numbers for the adhesive system product used. The record shall be maintained for 18 months or for so long as a warranty on the motor vehicle glass repair service performed is in effect, whichever is longer.”
The bill also requires that anyone who registers as a new or renewal auto glass repair shops must have a physical location, which includes indoor facilities to perform repairs. Shops would be required to register shop vans as commercial vehicles and obtain all local, state and federal licenses and permits. These shops would not be allowed to subcontract or sublet auto glass repair services to anyone not employed by the shop, unless they are a registered auto glass repair shop.
“Upon request of a consumer, a registered motor vehicle glass repair shop shall disclose all information relating to the charges for repair or replacement services, including the amount of the charges, the identification and line item charges for the parts provided and verification of the parts used, regardless of whether the amount is paid by the consumer or billed to the consumer’s insurance company,” reads the bill.
The bill also includes a section restricting abilities of insurers and third party administrators from requiring consumers to use a certain shop or from using unfair or deceptive acts to convince consumers to use a certain shop. A violation of this proposed law would carry a fine between $1,000-$5,000 and would be enforced and collected by the division of insurance.
The bill has currently passed the Senate and will be read for the third time before the House.
This story is an original story by AGRR™ magazine/glassBYTEs.com™. Subscribe to AGRR™ Magazine.
Subscribe to receive the free e-newsletter.